~Spero ergo sum~™

March 22, 2007

J’s Galore!

Filed under: Music — Teal @ 8:11 pm

So finally decided to put a post on two of my favorite artistes of all time. My playlist almost includes either all of their songs or a handful of theirs , repeated beyond count :-P]
I have always had a love for the guitar and somehow never got to lay my hands on one, until now. Not that my guitar is a custom made stratocaster, but i am make doing with a simple Givson Crown, which is a rocking choice for beginners. Someday will get me one of ’em Les Pauls [and no, I aint kidding!!!!]
JOE SATRIANI=GUITAR GOD
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
The reason why I am mentioning him first is because of all the artistes listed in this post, I heard him the first. Long long ago, back in the days of Times FM on 107.1, when Nikhil Chinnappa was an RJ here in Chennaipattinam – when chennai or rather india in itself was new to cable television, I used to fervently listen to this particular station between 7-9pm.
7-8 was a call in session, where in we could request for songs, and make dedications. IT was sometime between 5th and 6th standard, which was quite a long time ago!
[Considering that I am working now.] Heard a composition of his called “Love Thing” for the first time that summer, and fell madly in love with his sound, not to mention the track.
Some of my other favourites of his include – “Rubina’s blue sky happiness”, “Crystal Planet”, “Flying in a blue dream”, and “The Extremist”.
Thala pola varuma?

JOHN MAYER~ **SIGH**
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Not only is this guy blessed with talent, he is also pretty good looking. [yeah yeah many may beg to differ, but this is my blog not urs 😛 ] . Heard him first crooning “Your body is wonderland” a couple of years back. Wasnt that impressed. Thought to myself, this kid wont last, he is one of ’em one hit wonders. But boy , did he prove me wrong or what?
He might not be a commercial success, but he has gained quite a fan following across the globe.
His latest album titled “Continuum” has recieved rave reviews, and has shown how much maturity he has acquired as a musician.
Some of my favourites of his include – “Bigger than my body”, “No Such Thing”, “Clarity”,”Only Heart”, “Neon” , “Home Life”,”Belief”,”Stop this train”,”Waiting on the world to change”.
[I know I might have as well put “The complete works of John Mayer” , but he aint done yet]
Hopin to hear more gr8 music from these two favourites of mine in the years to come!

1 Comment »

  1. Me first to comment…:-)
    Both r great artists(tho Joe Sat aint my fav..tat wud b SRV and Petrucci)its such a pleasure to listen to ther music…Joe Sat does a lot to promote new talents in guitar thro his G3 concert…

    Comment by Vivek — March 24, 2007 @ 12:06 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.