~Spero ergo sum~™

May 6, 2006

Teal’s College Chronicles – II

Filed under: Misc — Teal @ 3:44 am

Well well, I had promised earlier that I would complete my college chronicles earlier, didnt I? Now you guys must be wondering why I ended up all nostalgic and stuff, let me safely tell you dat at this point ~
1) I am not at all sentimental about winding up college.
2) I didnt find anything else to blog about! 😛
3) I am a woman of word, so when I say something, I wil go by it… B-) .. ya ya i know i am tooo kool .. 😀

This one will be about all the other activities I was a part of. It was Feb ’05, we were in the third year. The moment had finally arrived. We were in control of the symposium work. We were the event co-ordinators, et al. So well, what did I do? I walked right up to the staff co-ordinators and became event co-ordinator for quiz. F.Y.I the quiz was not entirely technical, because if I made it that way, it’d been pathetic! So I made it semi-technical. My other friends became event co-ordinators of other events like Web Designing, Paper Presentation [eek], Network Gaming and stuff. The faculty always looked upon our batch as a bunch of indifferent, lethargic people. But man did we slog for the symposium or what? You could spot a sea of change in their attitude about us after the symposium work. Well you see the faculty will always pretend like they are capable of doing everything and ultimately dump all the work on us in the last minute! [wats new, I hear you fellow engineering students say.]

My event’s work was completed real soon. So me and my team helped out with the other events, we worked for 12 hours on weekends [ :O … shocking .. ya I know], stayed after classes to wind up with stuff. IT was real hard work, but man, it was real fun. Until then I was totally not in touch with my juniors, but I got to know the select few in the core commitee real well. 🙂 They were a bunch of nice, hard working kids. Posters were ready real late … so we went to most of the colleges in person and distributed them in person!

Everything was up and running. All set and ready to go. And so the day finally dawned upon us. We were totally tingly with excitement and adrenaline was flowing through our veins … As the saying goes, hard work never goes in vain. We got a record turnout. My event was a biiig hitt B-) Many came to me and said the questions were damn tough!! >:)


At the end of the day, our HOD was elated with the response we got for the symposium, which was just in it’s 3rd version. The icing on the cake was that – all core committee members were given the next day off for rest … and man, we never realised how exhausted we were until we got home after the symposium. Those one and half months were easily one of the most unforgettable times in my life. Will miss college and the good times, not much of the people though …

3 Comments »

  1. Hi..

    first time on ur blog..like this line” I am what I choose to be”..kool attitude!!

    All the best in being what u wanna be..
    roy

    Comment by Roy — May 6, 2006 @ 10:32 am | Reply

  2. Yeah, I knw how it is with college symposiums…. been there, done that… though it is highly exhaustive, it is a lot of fun too!!

    Comment by kuttichuvaru — May 8, 2006 @ 8:36 pm | Reply

  3. Well, I guess we’ve already had a long chat on college fests. And you got a day off? 😮 Lucky you..

    Comment by The optimist from utopia — May 10, 2006 @ 2:03 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

